Still in use today, the Courthouse Hotel stands proudly at the top end of Hawkins Street and is home to the popular Courthouse Kitchen.
The original building was erected by Mr William Murdock in 1879. The licensee was Mr James Stanton. It was initially called Ramsey's Hotel but the name was changed to link it with the Howlong Court House which was erected in 1880. The hotel underwent extensive renovations in 1902 - hence the date on the facade.
The rich history North of the Murray has been well maintained at the Courthouse Hotel, with many of the original fixtures still in place, and the bistro displaying many photographs of the Hotel's history.