Referred to as ‘The Oasis of the Riverina’, Culcairn today is a busy agricultural centre which is enhanced by its heritage buildings, such as the Culcairn Hotel, Memorial Hall, Court House, Railway Station and Station House. Culcairn was once the home and hunting ground for the Wiradjuri indigenous people. The town provides visitors with a range of recreation facilities with football, tennis and netball courts, public swimming pool, golf course, lawn bowls, cricket facilities, skate park and walking and bicycle tracks along with licensed clubs and picturesque parks and gardens.
One of the major landmarks of the town is the heritage listed Culcairn Hotel built in 1891. The hotel was also the source of the town’s first power supply in 1909. The Abikhair shops were built in 1903. The impressive row of heritage listed shops in Railway Parade was built by the owner of the Hotel, Mr Scholz, between 1908 and 1910.
In 1878 plans began for the construction of the railway line between Wagga Wagga and Albury, and the decision was taken to develop a number of towns along its route including Henty, Culcairn and Gerogery. In September 1880 the first train operated from what is now Culcairn, then known as Round Hill. The Station House (now a public museum) was built in 1882, and the town began to develop to what it is today.